Random musings

A look back at 2014

2014

These Facebook videos just don’t work when it comes to depicting my life in 2014. So what I’ve decided to share with all you peeps, is a list of what I felt were highlights and key learnings. Here it goes:

1. This year I managed to be in two cities in 48 hours. How? Well, I spent one day in Vatican City and the other in Rome. Being enraptured by art collections, taking in the view of Vatican City through a window in the Vatican Museums and discovering the delightful Palatine Hills were the most special moments.

2. I visited India after two years and decided that as part of the trip, I was going to visit a hill station called Manali at the foothills of the Himalayan mountains. Manali is a popular tourist destination for honeymooners, hippies and Bollywood film directors. Let me tell you, travelling to Manali is no easy feat and I was fully aware of the risk I was taking, driving up to an altitude of 6,726 ft. The morning I got up to make the journey with my family, I was scared. I was running the whole thing and taking my family up in the mountains, knowing that even though serenity awaited us, it was a route that could be dangerous. But the Salhotras did it. We drove up for about 10 hours taking in spectacular scenery – incredible India at its zenith. Glorious moments included gasping at the twinkling houses in the mountains as we drove by, hearing the Beas River flow by and waking up at 5am to the sight of mountains and apple orchards in peace. However, getting to Manali was just the tip of the iceberg. Somehow, I managed to make the trip to Rohtang Pass (pile of corpses), a mountain pass at an elevation of 13,497 ft. An hour from Manali, little did I know I was in for another episode of sensory overload. The moment that will stay with me is horseback riding up the hills to catch a breathtaking view of the mountains. For about 30 minutes, in ridiculously cold temperatures, I surrendered myself to letting nature amaze me. Just speaking to the teenager who owned the horses and whose day-to-day work was taking people on this amazing journey on his horses, was surreal. I got an insight into his life living in the mountains and seeing how he interacted with his horses. That for me, summed up the essence of truly going to the depths of the world and having an adventure.

natur

3. One of the most important lifestyle changes I have made, is taking up yoga, working out and eating healthily. Part and parcel of being in a career which focuses on healthcare, is that somewhere, you automatically start looking at what you can do to improve your health and well-being. I have loved the calmness that yoga has brought to my life and in a way, it’s helped me make healthier food choices which I have benefited from. With yoga, I’ve gotten to know how far I can push my body into a pose, and connected with my body. I now love my yoga mat! Definitely a wise decision to stay fit!

body

4. This year, I have learned that I love learning and still have a lot to learn! Whether it’s watching movies, seeing art exhibitions, learning basic photography skills, reading books or discovering music, my thirst for learning will never be quenched. There’s so much to take in from the world and whatever discoveries I have made and whatever I have learned, have shaped me this year and made me look at the world in a different light. I now have more dreams and desires as a result of the experiences of this year which I think is success.

learning

5. Finally, I have embraced those who I feel will have something to contribute to in my life, spread a little of my love and just lived each day looking and planning for a brighter and better future!

Here’s to an even better 2015! Peace out!

Leave a Reply

