Art

Martin Creed: What’s the point of it? A review

If you discovered that somewhere in London, a man had decided to take 7000 white balloons and fill a room with them for you to have the most joyous time, would you pass it by? I wouldn’t. Taking that thought and what I kept on reading about Martin Creed’s latest offering on Twitter and TimeOut London, I just had to see it. I just had to experience the randomness, the wit and the ‘fun’ that everyone was experiencing. So my friend and I reached the Southbank Centre to see what the fuss was all about. It was worth it. It was SO worth it. It’s undoubtedly one of the best exhibitions I’ve visited since Karl Lagerfield’s exhibition at the Saatchi Gallery. Upon entering I thought I was going to get knocked out by this massive rotating neon sign saying ‘Mothers.’ Once I got my bearings, I realised exactly the point Creed wanted to make – when we are small, mothers are big and can be scary.

image

From then on, it was bloomin’ marvellous. Yeah, there are some things like a scrunched up paperball, blu tac on a wall and stacked desks and chairs that make you think, ‘what the hell?’ But that’s the beauty of it. It’s ridiculous but so witty! Of course Creed ends up mocking you. Some people might not even consider some of the pieces of work ‘art.’ However, he’s laid out work that makes you question what on earth it means. His work intrigues you and is thought provoking. It makes you giggle and furrow your brow in total confusion as to why it’s there. He got a reaction out of me, and that’s exactly why the exhibition works so wonderfully.

It would be unfair of me to give everything away but all I can say is, you need to get down there! For adults and kids, it’s a delightful exhibition. My favourite part was definitely the moment a speaker with the sound of a man blowing raspberries, led to kids rolling on the floor with laughter. Everytime a raspberry was blown, the kids would laugh loudly again. Ooo and Work No. 200 Half the air in a given space – the awesome room of balloons transforms you into a hyper kid with static hair. Just for that, it’s worth a visit.

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

