Healthcare / PR

‘Check ’em Tuesday’ campaign not enough for Page 3 survival

check em tuesdays

I place my cup of tea on the right hand side of my table and spread a newspaper in front of me, allowing it to take over my keyboard momentarily. It’s a routine I am now accustomed to as I trawl through my assigned national paper on the hunt for health stories. Recently, The Sun has not graced my orange coloured desk, but the daily office email titled ‘headlines for today’ has done well in informing me of the breast cancer PR campaign called ‘Check ‘em Tuesday.’ The campaign aims to encourage women and men to regularly check themselves for signs of cancer. Let me just point out quickly that I have never, EVER seen the point of having a topless photo on Page 3 of a newspaper.  Number one, The Sun is a newspaper and it should be publishing news (duh-uh) and number two, it’s just so outdated. I can also prattle on about how it objectifies women but then I wouldn’t want to risk an outburst of ‘quit your jibber jabber’ and I do have a lot to say on that matter separately so I’ll save my words for another time….

There are positives to take and I will praise The Sun for trying to do good by raising awareness of breast cancer.
I just feel The Sun attempts to gloss over the issue of objectifying women, and in totality, comes off as trying too hard, which is a shame. That’s not to say that they haven’t thought this through. It’s a six month partnership which shows that they aren’t looking to make this a wham bam campaign but have clearly thought about the bigger picture. Every week, 5m females read The Sun of which 625,000 are at risk of being diagnosed with breast cancer – statistics like these have been nicely displayed by the paper in an infographic and justifies the partnership.

CoppaFeelinfographic1

My gripe is with the fact that there is no association between the perfect bosoms and breast cancer. Flawless bodies and physical beauty are not hallmarks of a typical cancer sufferer and thus the paper fails in taking into account the reality behind the disease. I just wish the paper could have used a more realistic photo of a topless woman who had undergone a mastectomy which is never going to happen because a perfect chest sells. There’s no denying that Coppafeel have benefited the most by having a campaign led by a national paper and I am genuinely pleased for the founder Kris Hallenga. However, my underlying issue remains with the existence of Page 3. It should have been gone a long, long time ago rather than hovering around providing titillation.

It’s high time Page 3 was scrapped and perhaps this campaign provides the opportunity for it to be exterminated on a good note.

Leave a Reply

