Random musings

TED Talk – Why 30 Is Not the New 20

You know I said I want to inspire others? I think I’ve forgotten that little ol’ me needs a lot of inspiring first. Has anyone truly inspired me? I really don’t know. I was asked to once list down people who inspire me, and whoever I wrote down didn’t deserve the accolade. I think it’s really difficult to pinpoint an individual who you can say you have gained knowledge from and gone on to achieve something incredible as a result. So in this continuous search to find something that alters the way I see myself and life every day, I decided to watch Ted Talks. It’s a good place to learn something new and to see where I can apply it. After all, it’s all about people telling stories that could potentially inspire you to look at things in a different light.

So I plugged in ‘the best TED talks of all time’ and lo and behold I came across lots and LOTS of google search results. I picked my first one. It was a short 15 minute video by Meg Jay, a clinical psychologist on why 30 is not the new 20. Perfect. I absolutely loved it. It was inspiring. It sort of reinforced for me, that my 20s is one of the most defining times of my life. As Jay mentions it’s a ‘development sweet spot.’ I would recommend everyone watch this because it conveys just how important your 20s are in helping shape who you are.
There are three things I took away that Meg Jay believes every 20 something should live by:

  • Get identity capital – do something that adds value to who you are and adds investment to who you might want to be in the future
  • New things come from weak ties
  • The time to start picking your family is now for marriage – as in picking who you want rather than killing time with someone

Identity capital was the most valuable life lesson. Often I have wondered how I can find out who I truly am as a person. Truthfully, you just get on with it and what you do, eventually makes YOU.

“Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is creating yourself.”                                                             

– George Bernard Shaw                                                             

Leave a Reply

