Books, books, books

The Great Gatsby – favourite quotes

great gatsby

I’m not really great at writing reviews because I always think I’m going to end up summarising, repeating and revealing the storyline. As such, I decided it’s probably best if I convey whether a book is worth the read and pick out key quotes that I liked. Simple really. So I ended up FINALLY reading The Great Gatsby by F.Scott Fitzgerald. Honestly, I tried reading it a few months back but failed to get past the first page. I’ve also never been particularly fond of American literature so have always been dubious about picking up such a novel. This time round, I persevered and ended up liking it for the main character Jay Gatsby – so mysterious! I could just picture Leonardo DiCaprio every time Gatsby was written about and in the end, the choice for the big screen was perfect!

Gatsby was the main reason for my decision to carry on reading, as well as the only stable character Nick Carraway, who happened to be the narrator. So the whole story is about Gatsby’s longing to be with an old love who he never forgot. He tries to get her into his home by throwing lavish parties for strangers (as he was once penniless). Catch is, she’s married. Anyway, my favourite quotes:

‘It was one of those rare smiles with a quality of eternal reassurance in it, that you may come across four or five times in life.’

‘He came alive to me, delivered suddenly from the womb of his purposeless splendour.’

‘We haven’t met for many years, ‘ said Daisy, her voice as matter-of-fact as it could be.’
‘Five years next November.’

‘He hadn’t once ceased looking at Daisy, and I think he valued everything in his house according to the measure of response it drew from her well-loved eyes.’

‘He talked a lot about the past, and I gathered that he wanted to recover something, some idea of himself perhaps, that had gone into loving Daisy.’

‘He knew that Daisy was extraordinary, but he didn’t realize just how extraordinary a ‘nice’ girl could be.’

‘The lawn and drive had been crowded with the faces of those who guessed at his corruption – and he had stood on those steps, concealing his incorruptible dream, as he waved them good-bye.’

‘So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.’

Leave a Reply

