Art / Science

The Wellcome Collection

Amongst the hustle and bustle of Euston station, one can see on the main road looming buildings reminiscent of London town. From museums to libraries, there is much to explore, yet the Wellcome Collection casually caught my eye during a morning commute. Walking past the prominent building the curious cat in me arose. I had been itching to go and check out this place for a while. Excitement levels broke records when I discovered it housed scientific exhibitions that I had been missing out on. There is much to see for the tourist, the workaholic looking for an evening break, and for those who simply love anything to do with science.

Some stand out pieces:

Alexa Wright, After Image (1997) – depicts the phantom limb and highlights the relationship between the body of an individual as it’s seen by others and the experience of living with such a condition. The work here aims to look at connections between identity and body form from a philosophical perspective. It also aims to see how we react to disabilities.

DSC00534

Julian Walker Collection Acts of Faith, 2003. Hand carved pills, glass, board. I really liked this because it shows non prescription tablets, vitamins and supplements cut into images of what they are supposed to target! So you can spot the heart and kidney.

DSC00539DSC00537

There was a wall of a collection of pictures drawn by children highlighting how important health and our body is, in their own quirky and innocent manner:

DSC00556

I thought these little figures were pretty neat and comic, highlighting popular culture portrayals of real scientists:

DSC00561DSC00560

DSC00562

My biometric identity was also revealed, a technique used to prove identity, although discrepancies are there of course, due to my 1.5 inch heels:

DSC00593DSC00592

Chris Drury Rockie/Karakoram, 2003. Woven maps and printed echocardiogram:

DSC00602

John Isaacs. I can’t help the way I feel, 2003:

DSC00617

Alastair Mackie, Mosquito Coast, 2002. Mosquitoes on Board – actual mosquitoes from a lab!

DSC00623

Droppings and sample of fleece from Dolly the sheep :

DSC00629

Andrea Duncan, Twenty Three Pairs, 2002, Digital Print. Yes, they are socks representing chromosomes:

DSC00635

Heidi Kerrison, Heidi X : The true horror of cloning, 1998. It conveys society’s fears of developments on genetic engineering. To clone or not to clone?

DSC00637

These are just a few of the ‘science meets art’ pieces that stood out to me and I only managed to see the ‘Medicine Now’ exhibition. I have yet to witness ‘Medicine Man.’ Must visit.

