Science

February science stand outs

Is it just me or did scientists/astronomers bring out their romantic side in the month of love – Feb?

a) Chromodoris reticulate is classified as a nudibranch which means it is a simultaneous hermaphrodite whereby it carries both male and female reproductive organs. So during mating, it can donate sperm as a male and receive sperm as the female. What gripped the scientific geeks like myself (hence the blog post), is that after mating, it sheds the penis, and regenerates another one within 24 hours in order to use it again. Nature is amazing. Having spent about six months of my life mating beetles for my individual research project, this research is very close to my heart.

slug 2b) The planetary nebula Sh2-174 looks more like a tulip and a tinsy bit like a rose. A nebula is made when a star dies. At the end of the star’s life, the outside layers are discarded in a shell of gas and these glow due to the energy of the centre star. Romantic astronomers at the forefront of image observation I tell you!

nebula

On the other hand…

c) I guess we needed some sort of scientific evidence. I knew I was doing right by casually popping gum in my mouth during school lessons to retain valuable knowledge. I knew defying my English teacher’s warning that chewing causes stomach ulcers was the best thing. Yep, reaction times were found to be 10 per cent faster while chewing gum. It leads to increased activity in areas of the brain associated with movement and attention. I know someone who would be most pleased…..

AlexFerguson1_1306727a

Leave a Reply

