TV and Film

A bunch of flawed people and a peculiar Japanese detective.

l 3

There have been many male protagonists and antagonists in movies and television shows that I have come to adore over the years. Note I haven’t mentioned novels. That’s because no male character has ever struck a chord with me. I would think that most women would be probably say Mr Rochester of Charlotte Brontë‘s Jane Eyre, Heathcliff of Emily Brontë’s Wuthering Heights and Fitzwilliam Darcy of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, has made them go weak at the knees or something along the lines of that. Some time back, Rochester was voted the most romantic literary character in a survey carried out by Mills and Boons. That just baffles me. Please also don’t get me started on Wuthering Heights. I can never get over the twisted way in which the relationships tangled up in that novel. Maybe I’m missing something. The fact is, Rochester was a weirdly complex character leading me to one conclusion – good lord, what a confused man. It’s not like I don’t find the brooding or charming male characters a fascinating watch. It’s just that these romantic literary figures don’t cut it for me.

So bring me Nate Fisher of TV show Six Feet Under, Dexter Morgan of Dexter and Patrick Jane of The Mentalist any day. Yet amongst this flawed bunch, I’ve come to add a completely different character. My introduction to Japanese films had led to the discovery L Lawliet of the manga and anime series Death Note.

What’s so unique about him?

Well, he is super clever and happens to live on sweet food items to solve crimes in a jiffy. He has this strange hunchbacked posture, chooses to crouch than sit, picks things up very delicately and is the good guy. In a nutshell, he is a quirky character with bundles of analytical skills! Always a thumbs up from me! It makes it a welcome change to having to sit through the endless number of imperfect characters that constantly crop up on-screen. Not to say L Lawliet doesn’t have his minus points. He fails to show that he can emotionally connect with other characters but he is still morally correct. But there we have it. In this constant swarm of flawed TV folks, it’s good to stumble upon the eccentric!

